Wide Open Spaces

When I was five years old, the Easter bunny gave me two tickets to see this country singer, who I thought was the greatest musician ever. Probably no one knows him anymore, but his name was Clay Walker. And I was obsessed. However, the highlight of that night was not that crooning cowboy. Instead it was a group of three blondes called the Dixie Chicks. They rocked my five year old world. I still remember the pants lead singer, Natalie Maines wore. I had never seen anything like them. Every color imaginable was represented in a myriad of bright shiny fabric, impossible to miss, and a little to reminiscent of Dolly Parton. Clay Walker was quickly replaced with my new female heros. The Spice Girls? Britney Spears? No way. I was a Southern child through and through and my inspiration was the Dixie Chicks.

One of their most famous songs, Wide Open Spaces, continues to be one of my all time favorite anthems. Just in case some of you have never heard this song (although I can’t possibly imagine why) here it is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dom7VlltBUc

The nineties hair and cheesy hair aside, this song is still one of my favorites. It was this song that first triggered and articulated the free spirit that I have buried down somewhere. But never have I indulged it to the extent I am about to. For those of you who don’ t know I am headed out on this little journey to Nairobi, Kenya and Yekepa, Liberia for six months. My emotions are as varied as the colors I saw on Natalie Maines’ pants. At once feeling terrified at the extent to which I will most likely discover my incompetence, I am oh so excited to find the light that God places in all circumstances and in all places. He has truly orchestrated the past few months, genuinely giving me a sense of awe at how BIG He is and how small I am. 

Finding the Light, is my attempt to record the joy that comes in the morning.

I am so excited to share my journey through Wide Open Spaces with you.

 

4 thoughts on “Wide Open Spaces

  1. I will be eating this up all summer, Brittany Hawkins.
    I cannot WAIT to see how this next chapter unfolds.

    (P.S. Remember what we talked about on the bench at Lake Ellyn?
    Don’t forget that. I won’t.)

  2. Brittany this is awesome and I am so happy God is sending you on this journey in life! You will have such a great time and a life changing experience I’m sure! I wish you the best of luck and can’t wait to see pictures and hear your experience! Keep in touch! I miss you and love you dearly! Best Wishes and Have Fun! -Love Bethany Kirby

  3. Brittany – I am so excited for you and, being completely transparent, a little bit jealous! How I long for an adventure like this! Yay for you for being obedient to God’s calling on your life and answering that call for Wide Open Spaces! There is a plan in all this and I can’t wait to see it unfold! Love and prayers.

Leave a Reply

