Honeymoon

Image

The past few days have been an absolute whirlwind, but now I am settled in with a cup of black current tea, a stomach full of Ethiopian food, and the nagging effects of jet lag. Happily, I am very much in the honeymoon stage of everything (except the traffic). I cannot speak highly enough of the people I have met here in Nairobi. They rival my southern roots with their exceptional warmth and hospitality. At the Amani center all the women greet you with a hug and a kind hello. I can’t wait to put up some pictures of the beautiful grounds of this secluded paradise. Of course I have had many moments of feeling like a dumb mzungu (white person), but everyone has been extraordinarily patient when, for instance, I go into the export office saying I am there to work in the distribution center. Or when someone does point me in the right direction, I find myself frozen in uncertainty in mounds of colorful fabric and bustling women.

I also learned that sleeping pills shouldn’t be taken at five in the morning.

With that being said, I have witnessed the beauty that comes from living in such a diverse city, and I have had the pleasure of worshipping in Swahili, Hindi, and English.

When I think what six months actually means, I have to take a step back and just appreciate each day for what it is. Day by day, step by step. By doing this, so far, each day has been filled with mostly positive and happy moments, a honeymoon if you will, even amidst the craziness of being uprooted half way around the world.

Mild Taste of Nairobi Traffic

Mild Taste of Nairobi Traffic

Leave a Reply

